Gather round, friends, and say thanks.

It’s that time of year again! Yes, the second best holiday, THANKSGIVING!!!

Alright, that turkey looks a little wimpy. But you get the picture.

But, a shocking development! facetrace’s family has decided to CANCEL Thanksgiving this year and instead jet off to the sunny beachs of Kauai.

This is a fair trade-off. No complaints here.

But since I won’t be able to sit at the kids’ table, gorging myself on my aunt’s perfect pecan pie, I’ll need another platform to give my thanks.

So in no particular order, here are (pop-culture-related) reasons why I’m thankful this year…

1. Aaron Sorkin is coming back to television!! Here’s a well-known secret: I LOVE Aaron Sorkin shows. Really, I do. I’m currently re-watching “Sports Night,” I get excited every time I catch a “West Wing” rerun on Bravo, and I watched every episode of “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip,” I swear. Here’s the deal: Aaron Sorkin-helmed TV shows make me excited about television. Sure, they can get sappy, soap-boxy, and overly sentimental, but if you can’t do that on your own show, when can you? I’ll forgive Sorkin for the cheesy moments because I know he’s so incredibly sincere about it all. And how crazy excited I am for these two tidbits about the future show:

a) A direct quote from Sorkin: “It’s going to be what turns out to be the third in the trilogy of TV shows that take place behind the scenes of a TV show, but this will be a different kind of TV show. That’s all I can let out of the bag right now.” YES. I won’t lie, there’s not much more I like than television about television. I’m very serious here, actually. I love the behind-the-scenes drama and it makes me want to work in TV forever and ever.

and

b) Sorkin said he “hopes” to reunite on the project with at least some of the actors he’s worked with previously. DOUBLE YES. Sorkin has had some excellent, excellent actors to work with. Bradley Whitford, Peter Krause, Josh Malina, Josh Charles, Matthew Perry, Felicity Huffman, Allison Janney…okay, I’ll stop listing, because I’m just going to list every actor in those shows. But seriously. The Joshes killed it on “Sports Night.”


2) The final four in Top Chef: Las Vegas!! Thank God for good chefs. This season has been great, even though I think Las Vegas is a blah backdrop. But one by one, week by week, the less-talented were weeded out and there is an epic season finale brewing. Of course, I’m rooting for the good guys, either Jen or Kevin. The Voltaggio brothers are much less likable, Michael for being kind of an asshole and Bryan for being, I don’t know, wooden? Stereotypically older brother? I don’t think the Bravo editors like him all that much. But in any case, I can’t fault the judges for the brothers being in the top four, becuase dayyyuummmmm they can cook. My bets for the finale? Kevin will probably win it all (and viewer favorite), but Bryan or Jen could pull off a win, too. I’m thinking Michael will pull a Richard Blais and just not perform up to his standard. But really, if any of them win, I’ll admire Tom Colicchio’s judging abilities. They’re all pretty awesome.

3. SLAPSGIVING!! Yes, Monday was Slapsgiving 2: Revenge of the Slap on “How I Met Your Mother.” OurNamesRhyme close friend Dan came over and we had roasted chicken, mashed potatoes, and green beans. (Total price? $10.27. Crazy.) And Slapsgiving 2: Revenge of the Slap did not disappoint. I’ll admit, most of the episode was just the longest set-up/anticipation for the most expected resolution. But there’s not much more satisfying than a good slap in the face, especially by Mr. Jason Segel. Which leads to…

4. Jason Segel’s surprise appearance/performance at a Swell Season concert. Hell, I’m just thankful for Jason Segel/Nick Andopolis/Marshall Eriksen.

And finally, slightly related:

5. Thank you, James Franco, for being incredibly hilarious on General Hospital. From your mysterious hobo character in the beginning to the haunting cover of “Mad World” that plays when you’re on screen, you’ve been making me laugh. Check out some videos at Jezebel.

And that’s that! Have a Happy Thanksgiving. I’m going to go pack my bathing suit and flip-flops. Aloha. As in goodbye, not hello.

Explore posts in the same categories: Television

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Gather round, friends, and say thanks.”


  1. Kauii Is great! I went there a few years ago for my sister’s wedding!


Leave a comment