After a short blog hiatus, it’s another rainy day! In November?? Go figure.

 

In any case, here’s another small batch of recommended music:

 

 

Have you been watching “Community”? I”m just going to assume you have, dear reader, since I admire your taste in television so much. In any case, last night’s stellar episode featured a song I’d been replaying over and over at work:

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes – Home

Have you been watching “Flash Forward”? Okay, don’t put it as high on your to-watch list as “Community.” It’s been hit-or-miss, and by that, I mean two or three good episodes, tops. I’ll stop myself from nitpicking it right now, but I’ll happily admit it does some kick-ass opening and closing scenes set to music, including one set to this tune:

Bjork – It’s Oh So Quiet

There’s been a huge flood of female-fronted indie bands recently and it gets a little hard for me to differentiate occasionally. (What? They’re all manic pixie girls with reddish hair and pale skin.) But this song won me over like whoa:

Florence and the Machine – Dog Days Are Over

And lastly, for a good EP of great-for-rainy-days instrumental songs, Icelandic musician Olafur Arnalds wrote 7 songs in 7 days and called it “Found Songs.” It appeals to the sap in me, I guess. Check them out at his website:

Olafur Arnalds – Found Tapes

Enjoy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment